SNP Leadership Race

Following the resignation of John Swinney as leader of the Scottish National Party (SNP), the nominations have today closed for leader and deputy leader of the Scottish National Party. Roseanna Cunningham MSP, Mike Russell and Alex Salmond MP are the candidates for leader while Nicola Sturgeon MSP, Fergus Ewing MSP and Christine Grahame MSP are the candidates for deputy.

Having resigned as leader 4 years ago, Salmond unexpectedly tossed his hat into the ring late this week having done a deal with Nicola Sturgeon whereby Sturgeon would be preferred as deputy leader and would be top dog in the Holyrood Parliament while Alex Salmond would remain in Westminster, close to his beloved television studios.

Although Cunningham was thought to be in the lead, Salmond's cult of love in the SNP is not be be underestimated and undoubtedly makes him favourite to win leadership of the party. 8209 ballot papers will be sent to members by 13 August, with the closing date for receipt of votes being 31 August.

Posted by Paul in Scotland Politics at July 16, 2004 09:30 PM | 0 Comments